top of page

"Talents", it's all about what you do with them.

Today we live in a world that has somehow made it's way to the point that it seems there is some deep mystery as to "why we are put on earth?" Really, I think this is a haze we choose ourselves and is not a true representation of what the human life is about. In my opinion, there is no lengthy, challenging journey to figure out why you were created. For me it's pretty simple! We are here to take what God has given us and make the best out of it until He returns for us or we go to meet Him. If you're thinking "that's pretty vague and simple" then you're right! But I don't think the simplicity of this idea is a bad thing, it's a beautiful thing! Look, I know that me myself coming up with theories and ideas is just as empty and broken as the lifelong journey to discover purpose so I will show you why I believe this and that it isn't based on me.

"And he who had received the five talents came forward, bringing five talents more, saying, ‘Master, you delivered to me five talents; here, I have made five talents more.' His master said to him, ‘Well done, good and faithful servant. You have been faithful over a little; I will set you over much. Enter into the joy of your master.’" - Matthew 25:20-21

Jesus used this parable of the talents found in Matthew 25:14-30 to teach the people of what their lives should be a mirror of. The moral of the story as you read the whole passage is that the servant who hides the talent is reprimanded and cast out where as the servants who trade their talents and gain more talents are rewarded and welcomed in. I know that "talents" in this passage is referring to a type of currency but I believe that Jesus was talking about more than just a economic currency. Jesus was honing in on the way we use our SPIRITUAL currency. Which may lead us to the question of "What is spiritual currency?" I find the best answer to that question in Galatians and 1 Corinthians.

"But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness, self-control; against such things there is no law." - Galatians 5:22-23

"To each is given the manifestation of the Spirit for the common good. For to one is given through the Spirit the utterance of wisdom, and to another the utterance of knowledge according to the same Spirit, to another faith by the same Spirit, to another gifts of healing by the one Spirit, to another the working of miracles, to another prophecy, to another the ability to distinguish between spirits, to another various kinds of tongues, to another the interpretation of tongues. All these are empowered by one and the same Spirit, who apportions to each one individually as he wills." - 1 Corinthians 12:7-11

Many people make the argument that the Lord hasn't blessed them with the gift of preaching, or singing, or prophesying, or praying in front of other people. I work with teenagers who constantly look for excuses (usually) to get out of doing things that I ask them to do. In my mind I try not to be too hard or judgmental on them because I remember how I was at their age but in reality I know they are wasting the talents God has given them by hiding them. I know the regret I harbor for the time I wasted in my younger life and the parables conclusion adds to the urgency we should share to do something with the talents the Lord has given us.

The Lord gives us each different gifts from the Holy Spirit and we are given the free will to determine what we do with those blessings. The Spirit also bears fruit in our lives that if all of our other gifts or talents fade we have the means to do something with what God has given us. One day I may no longer be able to preach like I do now, but the Lord will still allow me to be loving, joyful, peaceful, patient, kind, good, faithful, gentle, and self-controlled. We look at the gifts listed in 1 Corinthians 12 sometimes as if they are more valuable to God than the fruits of Galatians 5 but thats simply not true.

The Lord knows our hearts. He is the Master and Creator of the Universe and when he formed you and I he knew exactly what we would be capable of. One day He will require an answer of us of what we did with the talents he entrusted us with while we were in this life. The answer He expects of us is that we used them to gain more and more gifts and fruit of the Holy Spirit. He doesn't want to hear that the gift He gave you to speak to others was put on a shelf and used sparingly instead of unleashed as it was intended. It is clear in the words of Jesus how a hidden or wasted talent will be received by the Lord.

"And cast the worthless servant into the outer darkness. In that place there will be weeping and gnashing of teeth.'" - Matthew 25:30

The Lord has equipped you and will continue to provide for you exactly what He knows you need if you are only willing and obedient to use the gifts that He has given you for His kingdom. Don't think that the excuses that you can come up with the pacify your friends and family will stand when you face God. He made you, He knows you, and He loves you, but He will not accept excuses from you. On the other side of the coin, if you are using what the Lord has given you and working for him then do not give up hope or give in to discouragement! The Lord sees you and will one day welcome you as being a good and faithful servant! I believe sweeter words will never be heard!

 


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page